2017 MTV Video Music Awards: Winners & Losers

Kendrick Lamar accepts an 2017 Video of the Year Award

The 2017 MTV Video Music Awards were held on Sunday, August 27, 2017 at The Forum in Inglewood, California, honoring music videos released between June 25, 2016 and June 23, 2017. It was hosted by pop star, Katy Perry.

The 34th annual award show aired live from the venue for the second time in its history. The music video for Taylor Swift’s song “Look What You Made Me Do” premiered during the broadcast.

ALSO READ || Mariah Carey Lends Her Vocal Prowess To French Montana’s “Unforgettable” In Remix

Kendrick Lamar’s “Humble,”took home Best Hip-Hop Video, Zayn and Taylor Swift’s “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)” won for Best Collaboration, Ed Sheeran was crowned Artist of the Year, and if that made you mad, not to worry: Kendrick Lamar came back for a well-deserved Video of the Year award for “Humble.”

Here’s the full list, with winners in bold, below

Video of the Year

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble”

  • Bruno Mars — “24K Magic”
  • Alessia Cara — “Scars to Your Beautiful”
  • DJ Khaled(featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller) — “Wild Thoughts”
  • The Weeknd — “Reminder”

Artist of the Year

Ed Sheeran

  • Bruno Mars
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Ariana Grande
  • Lorde
  • The Weeknd

Best New Artist


  • Kodak Black
  • Young M.A
  • Julia Michaels
  • Noah Cyrus
  • SZA

Best Collaboration

Zayn and Taylor Swift — “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever”

  • Charlie Puth (featuring Selena Gomez) — “We Don’t Talk Anymore”
  • DJ Khaled (featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller) — “Wild Thoughts”
  • R.A.M. (featuring Lil Yachty) — “Broccoli”
  • The Chainsmokers(featuring Halsey) — “Closer”
  • Calvin Harris (featuring Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry and Big Sean) — “Feels”

Best Pop

Fifth Harmony (featuring Gucci Mane) — “Down”

  • Shawn Mendes — “Treat You Better”
  • Ed Sheeran— “Shape of You”
  • Harry Styles — “Sign of the Times”
  • Katy Perry (featuring Skip Marley) – “Chained to the Rhythm”
  • Miley Cyrus — “Malibu”

Best Hip Hop

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble”

  • Big Sean — “Bounce Back”
  • Chance the Rapper — “Same Drugs”
  • DJ Khaled (featuring Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper and Lil Wayne) — “I’m the One”
  • R.A.M. (featuring Lil Yachty) — “Broccoli”
  • Migos(featuring Lil Uzi Vert) — “Bad and Boujee”

Best Dance

Zedd and Alessia Cara — “Stay”

  • Kygo and Selena Gomez — “It Ain’t Me”
  • Calvin Harris — “My Way”
  • Major Lazer (featuring Justin Bieber and MØ) — “Cold Water”
  • Afrojack (featuring Ty Dolla $ign) — “Gone”

Best Rock

Twenty One Pilots — “Heavydirtysoul”

  • Coldplay — “A Head Full of Dreams”
  • Fall Out Boy — “Young and Menace”
  • Green Day — “Bang Bang”
  • Foo Fighters — “Run”

Best Fight Against the System

  • Alessia Cara — “Scars to Your Beautiful”
  • Logic (featuring Damian Lemar Hudson) – “Black Spiderman”
  • The Hamilton Mixtape – “Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)”
  • Big Sean — “Light”
  • Taboo (featuring Shailene Woodley) – “Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL”
  • John Legend — “Surefire”

Best Cinematography

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.” (Director of Photography: Scott Cunningham)

  • Imagine Dragons — “Thunder” (Director of Photography: Matthew Wise)
  • Ed Sheeran — “Castle on the Hill” (Director of Photography: Steve Annis)
  • DJ Shadow (featuring Run the Jewels) — “Nobody Speak” (Director of Photography: David Proctor)
  • Halsey — “Now or Never” (Director of Photography: Kristof Brandl)

Best Direction

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.” (Directors: Dave Meyers and The Little Homies)

  • Katy Perry (featuring Skip Marley) — “Chained to the Rhythm” (Director: Mathew Cullen)
  • Bruno Mars — “24K Magic” (Directors: Cameron Duddy and Bruno Mars)
  • Alessia Cara — “Scars to Your Beautiful” (Director: Aaron A)
  • The Weeknd — “Reminder” (Director: Glenn Michael)

Best Art Direction

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.” (Art Director: Spencer Graves)

  • Bruno Mars — “24K Magic” (Art Director: Alex Delgado)
  • Katy Perry (featuring Migos) — “Bon Appétit” (Art Director: Natalie Groce)
  • DJ Khaled(featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller) — “Wild Thoughts” (Art Director: Damian Fyffe)
  • The Weeknd— “Reminder” (Art Directors: Lamar C Taylor and KID. STUDIO)

Best Visual Effects

Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.” (Visual Effects: Jonah Hall of Timber)

  • A Tribe Called Quest — “Dis Generation” (Visual Effects: Brandon Hirzel of Bemo)
  • Kyle (featuring Lil Yachty) — “iSpy” (Visual Effects: Max Colt and Tomash Kuzmytskyi of GloriaFX)
  • Katy Perry (featuring Skip Marley) — “Chained to the Rhythm” (Visual Effects: MIRADA)
  • Harry Styles — “Sign of the Times” (Visual Effects: Cédric Nivoliez of ONE MORE)

Best Choreography

Kanye West — “Fade” (Choreographers: Teyana Taylor, Guapo, Matthew Pasterisa, Jae Blaze and Derek Watkins)

  • Ariana Grande (featuring Nicki Minaj) — “Side to Side” (Choreographers: Brian and Scott Nicholson)
  • Kendrick Lamar — “Humble.” (Choreographer: Dave Meyers)
  • Sia — “The Greatest” (Choreographer: Ryan Heffington)
  • Fifth Harmony (featuring Gucci Mane) — “Down” (Choreographer: Sean Bankhead)

Best Editing

Young Thug — “Wyclef Jean” (Editors: Ryan Staake and Eric Degliomini)

  • Future — “Mask Off” (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs of VHPost)
  • Lorde— “Green Light” (Editor: Nate Gross of Exile Edit)
  • The Chainsmokers (featuring Halsey) — “Closer” (Editor: Jennifer Kennedy)
  • The Weeknd — “Reminder” (Editor: Red Barbaza)

Song of the Summer

Lil Uzi Vert — “XO Tour Llif3”

  • Ed Sheeran— “Shape of You”
  • Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee (featuring Justin Bieber) — “Despacito (Remix)”
  • Shawn Mendes — “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back”
  • Fifth Harmony (featuring Gucci Mane) — “Down”
  • Camila Cabello (featuring Quavo) — “OMG”
  • DJ Khaled (featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller) — “Wild Thoughts”
  • Demi Lovato — “Sorry Not Sorry”

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award




Leave a Reply